This museum is the last remnant of Walendorp, an early residence in what would become the Bo-Kaap area. The house was built between 1763 and 1768. The building is a rare example of early urban Cape Dutch architecture from the mid-eighteenth century. It was restored in the 1970s and opened in 1978 as a museum displaying aspects of Muslin cultural heritage.
A large multi-purpose annex was added in 1994. This venue, in the heart of the historic Bo-Kaap, provides a charming setting for traditional Cape Muslim fare. A partially covered courtyard can also be used during conferences and other gatherings.